Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Simon Stephenson – Set My Heart to Five

September 15 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

- Free

We are pleased to announce our new Reader Meet Writer virtual event series. This new program will offer up some of your favorite authors discussing their newest book and answering your questions. Each event requires a code to enter so you must RSVP to reserve a space. We are not charging any fee for this series but do request that you purchase the books through our new online store however this is not a requirement to attend.

Simon Stephenson will discuss his new book, Set My Heart to Five, available from Righton Books here.

For fans of Fredrik Backman and Gail Honeyman, a delightfully entertaining, deceptively poignant debut novel about a human-like bot named Jared, whose emotional awakening leads him on an unforgettable quest for connection, belonging and possibly even true love.

Jared works as a dentist in small town Michigan. His life is totally normal, except for one thing. He is a bot, engineered with human DNA to look and act like a real person.

One day at a screening of classic movie, Jared feels a strange sensation around his eyes. Everyone knows that bots can’t feel emotions, but as the theater lights come on, Jared could swear he’s crying. Confused, he decides to watch more old movies to figure out what’s happening. The process leads to an emotional awakening that upends his existence. Jared, it turns out, can feel.

Overcome with a full range of emotions, and facing an imminent reset, Jared heads west, determined to forge real connections. He yearns to find his mother, the programmer who created him. He dreams of writing a screenplay that will change the world. Along the way he might even fall in love. But a bot with feelings is a dangerous proposition, and Jared’s new life could come to an end before it truly begins.

Delightfully entertaining and deceptively moving, Set My Heart to Five is a profound exploration of what makes us human, and a love letter to outsiders everywhere.

Simon Stephenson previously wrote Let Not the Waves of the Sea (John Murray), a memoir about the loss of his brother in the Indian ocean tsunami. It won Best First Book at the Scottish Book Awards, was a Book of the Week on BBC Radio 4, and a Daily Telegraph Book of the Year. Since then he has been dividing his time between the UK and LA, where he works as a screenwriter, most recently at Pixar Animation Studios.

Details

Date:
September 15
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:

Venue

GA United States

Organizer

Righton Books
Phone:
912-771-0808
Email:
info@rightonbooks.com
Website:
rightonbooks.com

RSVP

Tickets are not available as this event has passed.

Details

Date:
September 15
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:

Venue

GA United States

Organizer

Righton Books
Phone:
912-771-0808
Email:
info@rightonbooks.com
Website:
rightonbooks.com